BJD moves motion of notice to elect Amat as Odisha Assembly Speaker

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 15:

Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today moved a motion of notice to elect former Finance Minister Pradip Kumar Amat as the Speaker of the Odisha Assembly.

The motion of notice was moved before the Assembly Secretary with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik being its proposer and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha as its supporter.

Later, Amat filed his nomination before the Assembly Secretary in this regard.

Election for the Speaker of State Legislative Assembly is scheduled to be held on May 16 at 3 PM.

Notably, Amat had resigned on May 6 as the state Finance Minister and the Chief Minister had effected a major reshuffle in his cabinet the next day.

It may be recalled here that Niranjan Pujari had tendered his resignation as the Assembly Speaker on May 5.

Also Read

Comments are closed.