BJP announces candidate for Padampur Bypoll in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced its candidate’s name for the upcoming Padampur Bypoll in Odisha.

The central election committee of the BJP nominated Pradip Purohit for the bye-election to Padampur Assembly Constituency in Bargarh district.

Yesterday, BJP MLA from Sundargarh, Kusum Tete had informed media that senior party leader Pradip Purohit will file nomination papers on November 14.

Today, the party confirmed it in a notification.

The bypoll is scheduled to be held on December 5 this year.

Pradip Purohit was first elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly from Padampur on BJP ticket in 2014 Assembly Elections. However, he lost to BJD’s Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha in 2019 Assembly Elections.

The bypoll was necessitated after the demise of MLA Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha at a private hospital in Bhubaneswar on October 2.

Also Read

Comments are closed.