BJP candidate files nomination for Bijepur bypoll in Odisha

Bargarh: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Ashok Panigrahi today filed nomination for the Bijepur bypoll scheduled to be held on February 24.

Panigrahi reached the Padampur sub-collector office in a procession amid thousands of party workers and filed the nomination in the presence of BJP state president Basant Panda and other senior leaders.

Earlier in the day, a party meeting was held in Padampur where party’s state-in-charge Arun Singh, Basant Panda, BJP legislature party leader KV Singh Deo and Padampur MLA Pradip Purohit were present.

It may be recalled here that Panigrahi had joined the saffron party after quitting BJD in October last year.

While BJD candidate Rita Sahu will file nomination for the bypoll on February 5, the Congress is yet to announce its candidate.

Meanwhile, Mahanga Development Council chairperson Sarada Pradhan today joined the BJP at the party’s ‘Mishran Parv’ at Baruan Pitha, Mahanga, Cuttack in the presence of Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan.

Also Read

Comments are closed.