BJP to elect new Odisha Chief Minister today

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha BJP Legislature Party will convene today to choose their leader and the state’s new Chief Minister, with Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupendra Yadav acting as central observers.

The new government will be sworn in on Wednesday evening at Janata Maidan here. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with several top BJP leaders, will attend the ceremony.

Notably, the BJP won the Odisha Assembly Polls by securing 78 out of 147 seats.

The Twin City Commissionerate Police have beefed up security in Bhubaneswar for Odisha CM’s oath-taking ceremony.

Reports said a special blueprint has been prepared for the smooth functioning of traffic in view of the PM’s visit for the upcoming event in Bhubaneswar. Police Commissioner Sanjeeb Panda and DCP Prateek Singh are monitoring the security arrangements. This apart, an SPG team, DGP Arun Sarangi, and Intelligence Director Soumendra Kumar Priyadarshi also reviewed the security arrangement at Janata Maidan.

As per the schedule, PM Narendra Modi will arrive at Bhubaneswar Airport at 2.10 PM on June 12. After a halt at Raj Bhawan for two hours, he will head for Janata Maidan at 4.30 PM. The new Chief Minister of Odisha will take oath at 4.45 PM.

As many as 35,000 delegates, VIPs and VVIPs are likely to attend the oath-taking ceremony.

Also Read

Comments are closed.