Brajrajnagar by-poll: Counting of votes underway amid tight security

Jharsuguda: The fate of 11 candidates for Brajarajnagar Assembly by-poll in Jharsuguda district will be decided today as counting of votes began amidst tight security.

There will be 20 rounds for the counting, underway at Jharsuguda Engineering College. While 14 tables have been put up for the counting of votes, 60 officials have been engaged for the purpose with three staff at each table. Agents of the candidates have been allowed to remain present at the centre.

Meanwhile, elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure smooth conduct of the counting. Results of the same are likely to be declared in the afternoon.

Also Read: Brajrajnagar bye-poll: 69 per cent turnout recorded

The by-poll was necessitated following the untimely demise of BJD’s Kishore Mohanty in December last year. Though there are 11 candidates in the fray for the by-poll, the constituency will witness a triangular fight between BJD’s Alaka Mohanty, BJP’s Radharani Panda and Congress’ Kishore Patel.

Also Read

Comments are closed.