‘Cautious’ Congress announces candidates for four more Assembly seats in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  The Congress has released another list of its party candidates for four more Assembly seats in Odisha.

The party replaced Ram Krishna Panda with Shambhunath Panigrahi from Hinjili constituency, the home turf of BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. The BJP has fielded Pitambar Acharya from the constituency.

Similarly, Biren Senapati has replaced young gun Muktikanta Biswal from Rourkela Assembly seat. Biswal, an idol-maker who had hit the headlines last year for his Delhi Chalo mission to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi, declined the Congress offer, saying he is “not interested to contest the election”.

Also Read: Odisha Polls: Congress releases 1st list of candidates

The party has fielded Ramesh Purohit from Patnagarh seat in Balangir district.

Shyamghana Pradhan is the Congress candidate for G. Udayagiri Assembly constituency in the tribal-dominated Kandhamal district. The party dropped its sitting MLA Jacob Pradhan from the seat this time.

Earlier, the party had announced candidates for 90 Assembly seats and eight for Lok Sabha seats

Also Read: Congress releases second list of candidates for Odisha polls

The elections for 147 Assembly seats in Odisha will be held in four phases starting from April 11 to April 29.

Also Read

Comments are closed.