Coal Ministry cancels allocation of six blocks including Odisha’s Bankhui

New Delhi: The Coal Ministry has cancelled allocation of six coal blocks including one in Odisha. Other States where the coal block allocations have been cancelled are Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra, a release issued by the Ministry stated.

The Centre took a decision to de-allocate Bankhui open cast coal block of Odisha, Mourya and Kerandari coal blocks of Jharkhand, Bhivkund coal block of Maharashtra, Pindrakhi and Puta Parogia blocks of Chhattisgarh. As per the release, the Centre’s move comes after long delay in development of coal blocks allocated to power generation companies from 2007 to 2010.

In 2015, the Supreme Court de-allocated 204 coal blocks citing irregularities in the allocation. Later the Ministry reallocated 31 blocks of them.

Also Read

Comments are closed.