Cyclone AMPHAN: Four IAS officers, four IPS officers assigned these Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: In view of impending Super Cyclone AMPHAN, Odisha Government today assigned four IAS officers and four IPAS officers to monitor situation in four possible affected districts — Balasore, Bhadrak, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur.

As per notification by Office of Special Relief Commissioner (SRC), Odisha, Commerce & Transport Principal Secretary Madhu Sudan Padhi, Chief Electoral Officer Sushil Kumar Lohani, Industries Principal Secretary Hemant Sharma and Higher Education Commissioner-cum-Secretary Saswat Mishra have been deputed to Balasore, Bhadrak, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur districts respectively.

These four senior officials will provide guidance and support to the district administrations in management of Cyclone AMPHAN.

The DGP, Odisha deputed four senior police officers to the four districts to provide guidance and support to the SPs for management of the cyclone.

IPS officer Diptesh Kumar Pattanayak has been given charge of Balasore district while Ghanashyam Upadhyay was deputed to Bhadrak district.

While Ashish Kumar Singh was assigned Kendrapara district, Jai Narayan Pankaj was given charge of Jagatsinghpur district.

As per the IMD prediction, Cyclone AMPHAN, which has been intensified into Super Cyclonic Storm over the Bay of Bengal, may affect north Odisha coastal districts.

Currently, the Super Cyclonic Storm AMPHAN is centred over west-central and adjoining central parts of South, about 770 km nearly south of Paradip (Odisha), 920 km south-southwest of Digha (West Bengal) and 1040 km south-southwest of Khepupara (Bangladesh). It is very likely to move nearly northwards for some more time and then north-northeastwards across northwest Bay of Bengal and cross West Bengal – Bangladesh coasts between Digha (West Bengal) and Hatiya Islands (Bangladesh) close to Sundarbans during the afternoon or evening of 20th May as an Extremely Severe Cyclonic Storm with maximum sustained wind speed of 165-175 kmph gusting to 185 kmph.

Also Read

Comments are closed.