Dates for bye-election to Brajrajnagar assembly seat in Odisha announced

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced dates for the bye-election to three Assembly constituencies including one in Odisha. The bye-election will be held to fill vacancies in Brajrajnagar assembly seat in Odisha, Thrikkakara assembly constituency in Kerala and Champawat assembly constituency in Uttarakhand.

It is worth to mention here that the bye-election to the Brajrajnagar assembly seat was necessitated following the demise of Kishore Kumar Mohanty of BJD party, who won the assembly constituency in 2019 general election.

As per a statement issued by the commission, polling to the Brajrajnagar assembly seat will be held on May 31 and counting of votes on June 3.

The last date for filing of nominations is on May 11 and scrutiny of nominations on May 12. Last date for withdrawal of candidatures in is on May 17.

The date before which election shall be completed is June 5, the statement added.

The date of issue of gazette notification is on May 4.

EVMs and VVPATs will be used during the bye-elections in all the polling stations.

With the announcement of the dates, the model code of conduct has come into force in the district wholly or partly where the bye-election is going to be held.

Also Read

Comments are closed.