ECI appoints new Chief Electoral Officer for Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India has appointed 1993-batch IAS officer Nikunja Bihari Dhal as the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) for Odisha.

Dhal will replace incumbent Sushil Kumar Lohani.

The ECI made this appointment by exercising the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 13A of the Representation of the People Act, 1950. It also consulted the Odisha government on the issue.

According to the notification, Dhal shall cease to hold and handover forthwith the charge of all or any charges of work under Odisha government upon assuming office of the CEO.

Besides, Dhal as the CEO shall not hold any additional charge under the state government except the post of Principal Secretary in charge of Election Department in the State Secretariat.

The outgoing CEO Sushil Kumar Lohani, a 1995-batch IAS officer, has been appointed as the Principal Secretary to the Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water department, said a notification of the General Administration department today.

Lohani will also hold the additional charge of Principal Secretary to Excise department.

Revenue department Additional Chief Secretary Satyabrata Sahu has been allowed to hold the office of the Special Relief Commissioner (SRC), Odisha as additional charge.

Rural Development department Principal Secretary Sanjay Kumar Singh has been given the additional charge of Principal Secretary to Energy department.


Also Read

Comments are closed.