Election Commission announces Bijepur by-poll schedule

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Election Commission of India today announced the schedule of Bijepur by-poll which was necessitated after BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik vacated the seat.

Election Commission chief Sunil Arora announced the dates in New Delhi.

Bijepur will go to polls on October 21 for which notification will be issued on September 23, Arora said.

Maharashtra and Haryana will also go to polls on October 21. Apart from this, bi-election in 64 constituencies will also be held on the same date.

Last date of nominations will be on September 30 followed by scrutiny on October 1. On October 3, the candidates will be allowed to withdraw their nomination.

Counting of votes will be held on October 24.

Worth mentioning, Naveen Patnaik had contested polls from Bijepur and Hinjili in the recently concluded assembly polls. Patnaik won from both the seats and later resigned from Bijepur constituency.

Also Read

Comments are closed.