FIH Series Finals: 3 from Odisha in Indian Women’s Hockey team

Bhubaneswar: As many as three players from Odisha have been placed in the 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey team for the forthcoming FIH Women’s Series Finals Hiroshima 2019 scheduled to begin on June 15.

They are defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra and midfielder Lilima Minz. The team will be captained by Rani while Savita is the vice-captain.

Experienced goalkeeper Savita and Rajani Etimaru will guard India’s goalpost while defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Nisha, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete and Sunita Lakra have been named in the squad.

Midfielders Monika, Nikki Pradhan, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam have been called-up while the forward-line features Rani, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami and Jyoti.

“We have a good balanced team with youth and experienced players. Nisha is replacing injured Reena Khokar in the midfield and she has shown in training that she is worthy of the position and executes her role and sticks to the tasks as expected. She makes her International debut and I believe she will do well,” said Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne about the team selected for the event.

Speaking about the team’s preparedness, Marijne said, “We have had good preparations, having played against different styles during our tour to Spain, Malaysia and Republic of Korea. We have done everything we could do to be well-prepared and now we will focus on getting off to a good start against Uruguay.”


Indian Team: 


1. Savita (Vice Captain)

2. Rajani Etimarpu


3. Deep Grace Ekka

4. Nisha

5. Gurjit Kaur

6. Salima Tete

7. Sunita Lakra


8. Monika

9. Nikki Pradhan

10. Lilima Minz

11. Neha Goyal

12. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam


13. Rani (Captain)

14. Vandana Katariya

15. Navjot Kaur

16. Navneet Kaur

17. Lalremsiami

18. Jyoti

Also Read

Comments are closed.