First phase Odisha polls: Nabarangpur registers highest turnout in LS segment

Bhubaneswar: Even as poll boycott was reported in various places in tribal districts of Odisha, the highest percentage of polling was registered in Maoist-infested Nabarangpur district in Lok Sabha segment.

“Nabarangpur recorded the highest voter turnout of 78.89% in parliamentary constituency followed by Kalahandi and Koraput with 75.82% and 74.77% respectively in first phase. The voting percentage of 65.57% was recorded in Berhampur Lok Sabha segment ,” informed Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar here today.

Total 73.76% voting percentage was registered in Odisha in first phase, out of which the percentage of male voters was 73.09% and female voters was 74.43%.

“The voting percentage of female voters is a good sign, Kumar said.

In Assembly segment, the highest percentage of polling was registered in Kotapad block with 86.83% in first phase of polls.

“However, the lowest percentage was recorded in Berhampur Assembly constituency with 56.34%,” he said.

As per the data available with the State Election Commission, fresh polling will be held in two booths in Malkangiri and Berhampur.

“We have recommended the Election Commission of India for fresh polling in two booths, one in Malkangiri and another in Berhampur Lok Sabha segment,” Kumar said.

“The scrutiny is underway by the poll observers. We will provide more details if the ECI seeks from us. The final decision will be taken by the ECI,” he added.

Also Read

Comments are closed.