Five from Odisha receive Padma Shri award from President Kovind

Bhubaneswar: President Ram Nath Kovind today presented Padma Shri to five eminent personalities from Odisha at a civil investiture ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

While Baba Balia, Shyamamani Devi, Narasingha Prasad Guru and Aditya Prasad Dash received the award from the President, Guruprasad Mohapatra was conferred with the Padma Shri posthumously.

Baba Balia: Founder of Sishu Ananta Ashram and Ananta Balia Trust, his philanthropic works include working on women empowerment, environment protection and blood donation.

Dr Shyamamani Devi: She made major contributions to the systematic development of Odissi music and the codification of its grammar. She has enthralled audiences with her over 4,000 songs in a career spanning more than 7 decades.

Narasingha Prasad Guru: A renowned litterateur of Koshali language in Odisha, he compiled a dictionary called ‘Koshali-Odia Abhidhan’ consisting of 17,000 Koshali words.

Prof Aditya Prasad Dash: Vice Chancellor of the AIPH University, Bhubaneswar, he has significantly contributed in the field of vector-borne and tropical diseases affecting the marginalised communities.

Dr Guruprasad Mohapatra (posthumous): A civil servant, he succumbed to COVID related complications while working through his illness to coordinate oxygen supplies in the country during the second wave of COVID-19.

The President presented a total of eight Padma Bhushan and 54 Padma Shri Awards at the ceremony.

Also Read

Comments are closed.