Five hockey players from Odisha selected for National Coaching Camp

Bhubaneswar: As many as five hockey players from Odisha have secured berth in the 34-member core probables list for Indian Men’s National Coaching Camp scheduled to begin from July 8 at the Bengaluru Campus of the Sports Authority of India.

They are Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Shilanand Lakra and Ashis Kumar Topno.

The players will report to Chief Coach Graham Reid for the six-week camp that concludes on August 11, following which the Indian team will travel to Japan for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Test Event to be played between India, Japan, Malaysia and New Zealand starting August 17.

“We will review our previous performance at the FIH Men’s Series Final Bhubaneswar and discuss among ourselves the shortcomings and how we can collectively improve our performance in the lead up to the Olympic Qualification in November. The next three-four months will be crucial and everything we do will be aimed at raising the bar in all aspects of the game,” expressed Chief Coach Graham Reid.

He further expressed that he will be watching closely the progress of every player and no one must take their place in the team for granted. “The support staff and I will be closely monitoring the progress of every player during this National Camp so in that sense each session is going to be important and we would expect nothing but 100 per cent from every player. The current pool of players assures of healthy competition and I am looking forward to the next six weeks,” Reid added.


Core Probables List


1.    P R Sreejesh

2.    Suraj Karkera

3.    Krishan Bahadur Pathak


4.    Harmanpreet Singh

5.    Birendra Lakra

6.    Surender Kumar

7.    Amit Rohidas

8.    Varun Kumar

9.    Rupinder Pal Singh

10.  Gurinder Singh

11.  Kothajit Singh Khadangbam

12.  Nilam Sanjeep Xess

13.  Jarmanpreet Singh


14.  Manpreet Singh

15.  Sumit

16.  Nilakanta Sharma

17.  Jaskaran Singh

18.  Hardik Singh

19.  Vivek Sagar Prasad

20.  Ashis Kumar Topno

21.  Yashdeep Siwach

22.  Sayyad Niyaz Rahim

23.  Raj Kumar Pal


24.  Mandeep Singh

25.  Akashdeep Singh

26.  Shilanand Lakra

27.  Gursahibjit Singh

28.  Shamsher Singh

29.  Armaan Qureshi

30.  Sumit Kumar

31.  Simranjeet Singh

32.  SV Sunil

33.  Gurjant Singh

34.  Ramandeep Singh

Also Read

Comments are closed.