Govt announces formation of one more NAC in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The state government today announced the formation of Birmaharajpur Notified Area Council (NAC) in Sonepur district of Odisha.

A new NAC will be constituted for Birmaharajpur in Sonepur district, said the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) in a statement.

Birmaharajpur is the sub-divisional headquarters of Sonepur district.

The state government yesterday declared that as many as 34 new NACs will be created in 20 districts of Odisha to strengthen the local self-governance. Besides, five NACs will be upgraded into municipalities in the state.

With the creation of 35 new NACs, the state will have altogether 150 urban local bodies (ULBs).

The total number of NACs in Odisha has gone up to 92 and total municipalities to 53. Besides, the state has five municipal corporations in cities like Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela.

Also Read

Comments are closed.