Here’s the list of Padma Awardees from Odisha for this year

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: As many as seven eminent personalities from Odisha will receive Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country this year.

Litterateur Pratibha Ray from Odisha will receive Padma Bhushan for her contributions in Literature and Education field. Similarly, Padma Shri will be conferred on Srimad Baba Balia in Social Work, Aditya Prasad Dash in Science and Engineering, Shyamamani Devi in Art, Pramod Bhagat in Sports and Narasingha Prasad Guru in Literature and Education field. Guruprasad Mohapatra from will be awarded Padma Shri posthumously in Civil Service.

Padma Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are given in various disciplines and fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

The President of India confers the Padma Awards at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

This year, the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards including two duo case (in a duo case, the award is counted as one). The list comprises four Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards.

A total of 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.

Also Read

Comments are closed.