High voltage fight: Pinaki Mishra clinches victory against Sambit Patra

Puri: Sitting BJD MP Pinaki Mishra has retained his Puri Lok Sabha seat by defeating BJP’s Sambit Patra by a margin over 11,000 votes. In 2014, Mishra had won the seat by a margin of over two lakh votes.

Patra was leading in most of the rounds when the counting began but later in the late evening Mishra took a lead which helped him to seal his fourth straight victory.

Mishra got around 537782 votes as compared to 524504 received by Patra.

Puri has been a stronghold of the BJD and since 1998 this constituency has been represented by a member of the Naveen Patnaik-led party.

The Puri Lok Sabha seat constitutes Puri, Brahmagiri, Satyabadi, Pipili, Chilika, Ranpur, Nayagarh assembly segments.

On the other hand, in Puri assembly seat BJP candidate Jayanta Sarangi defeated BJD strongman Maheswar Mohanty by a narrow margin of less than 2000 votes. Similarly, BJP candidate Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra trounced BJD’s Sanjay Das Burma in Bramhagiri seat by a close margin by less than 2000 votes.

Also Read

Comments are closed.