How to delete Instagram account: Step-by-step guide for deleting your Instagram profile

Bhubaneswar: When you delete your Instagram account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed.

After your account is deleted, you can sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account as long as it hasn’t been taken by a new person on Instagram.

Keep in mind that if your account is removed for violating Community Guidelines, you may not be able to sign up again with the same username.

Here’s step-by-step guide for deleting your Instagram profile.

Step 1: Go to the ‘Delete Your Account‘ page from a mobile browser or computer. If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web, you’ll be asked to log in first. You can’t delete your account from within the Instagram app.

Step 2: Select an option from the dropdown menu next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu.

Step 3: Click or tap ‘Delete’ [username].

After 30 days of your account deletion request, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information. It may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process after it begins.

How to temporarily disable Instagram account?

If you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. You can only disable your Instagram account from a computer or mobile browser.

From Computer

Step 1: Log into instagram.com from a computer. You can’t temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.

Step 2: Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile.

Step 3: Scroll down, then click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.

Step 4: Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.

Step 5: Click Temporarily Disable Account.

Also Read

Comments are closed.