India suspends visas for four countries

Bhubaneswar: Amid coronavirus scare, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting today issued fresh advisories according to which visas granted to nationals of Italy, Iran, South Korea and Japan have been suspended with immediate effect.

“All regular (sticker) Visas/e-Visa granted to nationals of Italy, Iran, South Korea, Japan and issued on or before 03.03.2020 and who have not yet entered India, stand suspended with immediate effect. Those requiring to travel to India due to compelling reasons, may seek fresh visa from nearest Indian Embassy/Consulate,” the advisory said.

Regular (sticker) visa/e-Visa granted to nationals of People’s Republic of China, issued on or before 05.02.2020 were suspended earlier. The advisory further said the order shall remain in force.

“Diplomats, officials of UN and other international bodies, OCI cardholders and aircrew from above countries are exempted from such restriction on entry. However, their medical screening is compulsory,” it noted.

The advisory further said passengers (foreign and Indian) other than those restricted, arriving directly or indirectly from China, South Korea, Japan, Iran, Italy, Hong Kong, Macau, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, Nepal, Thailand, Singapore and Taiwan must undergo medical screening at port of entry.

Passengers of all international flights entering into India from any port are required to furnish duly filled self declaration form (including personal particulars i.e. phone no. and address in India) and travel history, to health officials and immigration officials at all ports.

Indian citizens are advised to refrain from travel to China, Iran, Republic of Korea, Italy and advised to avoid non-essential travel to other COVID-19 affected countries.

Also Read

Comments are closed.