Jail DIG among 7 ‘corrupt’ officials given compulsory retirement in Odisha


Bhubaneswar: As part of its ‘zero tolerance’ policy against corruption and inefficiency, Odisha Government today gave compulsory retirement to seven officials, including a Jail DIG with immediate effect.

The six other officials who have been given the punishment include a Commandant, a Deputy Commandant, DSP, a CDPO and  two Mines officials.

Official sources said Jail DIG Gopabandhu Mallick had misused his power as the head of a Jail Warder Selection Committee and his involvement in irregularities in the selection process. The official’s performance was  not satisfactory and his honesty was also questioned for which he has been given compulsory retirement.

Besides, suspended CDPO Snigdharani Mishra of Nandapur in Koraput district, who is booked in two Vigilance cases, has been given compulsory retirement. The anti-graft wing had registered a complaint against the CDPO in 2016 for allegedly amassing disproportionate assets to the tune of Rs 80 lakh and accepting bribe of Rs 1.75 lakh from a SHG member to clear a bill in October this year.

Ekanta Priya Nayak, who served as Commandant of Odisha Special Armed Police (OSAP), was suspended from his job for misbehaving and assaulting his subordinates. He is also accused of being a drunkard and inefficient cop.

DSP Goutam Mallick was placed under suspension after two civil cases were lodged against him.

Debendra Nath Behera, who serves as Deputy Commandant in OSAP, has booked for alleging stealing wood from forests. He is also accused of transporting the theft wood in Government vehicle with the help of his subordinates.

This apart, two junior officials of Mines Department-Satyabrata Rout and Ramesh Chandra Panda, have also been given compulsory retirement as they have been booked in five and three Vigilance cases, respectively. Three departmental actions have been taken against them for dereliction in duty and misconduct. They have also been suspended from their jobs.

Earlier on December 30, the Government had given compulsory retirement  to six officials. In last one year, total 110 officials in the state have been given compulsory retirement.


Also Read

Comments are closed.