JMM Odisha unit’s former president, vice president join BJD

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of impending panchayat elections in Odisha, two former key leaders of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Odisha unit joined the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) here today.

Along with many JMM workers and leaders, Mahesh Chandra Hembram – the former State president of JMM – and Ramchandra Murmu – the former vice president of JMM’s Odisha unit – joined the BJD in presence of top BJD leaders including the party’s Organisation Secretary Pranab Prakash Das at BJD office in Bhubaneswar.

State Revenue Minister Sudam Marndi, Chandbali MLA Byomakesh Ray and Debasish Marndi were among BJD leaders present at the programme.

Mahesh Hembram was the JMM candidate in 2009 and 2014 Assembly elections from Jashipur seat. In 2019 polls, he had contested from Saraskana Assembly Constituency.  He was Odisha state JMM president from 2014 to May 2021. On August 24 this year, he had resigned from the party.

On the other hand, former JMM Odisha unit’s vice president Ramachandra Murmu had fought the 2019 elections on JMM ticket from Rairangpur Assembly Constituency.


Also Read

Comments are closed.