Mass resignation by Congress leaders ahead of 2019 polls in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In a huge jolt to Congress ahead of the 2019 elections, three former legislators along with their supporters resigned from primary membership of the grand old national party over alleged partiality in ticket distribution.

Expressing strong resentment over Congress’ process of ticket allotment, former Narla MLA Kumarmani Sabar, Ex MLA from Junagarh Gobardhan Dash and Ex MLA from Dharmagarh Jugaram Behera and others holding various posts of the party tendered one resignation to Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) head Niranjan Patnaik today.

In the resignation letter addressed to Patnaik, the leaders said, “We had been working to strengthen the Indian National Congress for two decades. However, we were ignored and sidelined by the party during selections of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.”

“While two members of a family were given party tickets, the senior leaders, who have been serving the party for decades, were denied the tickets. Despite repeated protest by the party workers, we were ignored by the OPCC,” they alleged in the letter indicating all’s not well in the party.

They mentioned the alleged partiality in ticket disbursement for Narla Assembly constituency and candidates’ selection for Kalahandi district.

“There was demand for long term leadership in Narla Assembly constituency. However, the selection of a candidate from Bhawanipatna to field him for the assembly seat has created strong resentment among the party workers. By sidelining the winnable candidates, the party will face loss in Kalahandi,” they said.

Also Read

Comments are closed.