Mo Bus service to be available in all panchayats of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The ‘Mo Bus’ service will be available in all panchayats of Odisha, said Transport Secretary Usha Padhee today.

The ‘Mo Bus’ buses will ply between blocks and panchayats under the ‘Laxmi’ scheme, the official said.

In the first phase, the service will be available in six districts– Koraput, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Kalahandi and Gajapati. It will be expanded to other regions later, said Padhee.

Earlier this month, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had approved a proposal to extend the ‘Mo Bus’ service to nine towns in Sambalpur, Jharsuguda and Ganjam districts of Odisha.

As per the decision, the Mo Bus service will be extended to Sambalpur-Jharsuguda-Brajarajnagar-Belpahar cluster and Berhampur-Gopalpur-Chhatrapur-Hinjilicut-Digapahandi cluster.

Mo Bus service, which was introduced in the Capital Region on November in 2018 under the SPV Capital Region Urban Transport (CRUT), has covered the districts Khurda, Cuttack and Puri with a ridership of 2.3 lakh per day with a fleet of 390 buses.

After becoming the mobility lifeline for the people of Capital Region of Odisha, Mo Bus services was extended to Rourkela-Biramitrapur-Rajgangpur Master Plan area in the district of Sundargarh during the World Cup Hockey in January 2023.

Also Read

Comments are closed.