National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2022 held in Puri

Puri: The award ceremony of the National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2022 was organised at Town Hall, Puri on Saturday. ‘Rakhi’, a film based on bond of brother-sister directed by Manmaydey from Balasore won the best film in the Odia category. ‘The Power of 2 Sec’ directed by Pankaj Gupta from Bangalore received the best film award in Non-Odia category. They were felicitated by Justice S. Muralidhar, Chief Justice, Orissa High Court who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

Speaking on the occasion, Justice S. Muralidhar, “The issues raised in the films on theme of Road Safety are very relatable. I am hopeful this festival will create more awareness about safe driving habits and help us in reducing road accidents and fatalities related to it. This festival is an eye-opener for judiciary as well.”

He further added, “Involvement of children in these movies reflecting major road safety issues is very encouraging.” He also said there is a need to focus on the road safety issues like pedestrian safety, safety of cyclists, drowsy driving, overloading of trucks and not road worthy vehicles on the roads.

In his address, Justice Murahari Sri Raman urged to focus first party insurance for all the vehicles, free treatment for trauma patients during first 48 hours of accident, blood donation and well equipped ambulance at regular intervals on roads.

Addressing the gathering, Sunil Kumar Bansal, DGP, Odisha said, “Movies have a forceful impact on public. The films on road safety will prove to be an eureka moment for thousands and thousands of people. Festivals like this will help us spreading awareness about Road Safety. I urge one and all to wear helmet while riding two-wheelers. This will save enormous lives.”

The festival was organised with an aim to raise awareness about road safety issues and promote increased engagement in road safety cooperation in the state of Odisha as well as across the nation to reduce the road accidents and fatalities related to it.

On this occasion all the jury members of the festival were also felicitated. Among the jury members, Kuna Tripathy, former chairman, OFDC and popular Odia actor, Sidhanta Mohapatra, Former MP and veteran actor, Rajesh Touchriver, National Award Winning Filmmaker, Dharitri Patnaik, Entrepreneur & Philanthropist and Sujit Mohapatra, Bakul Foundation & Author were present on the occasion.

Among others, Arun Bothra, Transport Commissioner, Odisha and Additional Commissioner Transport, Srinibas Behera were present at the award ceremony.

A total of 230 entries were received from across the country for the contest which was open till June 10, 2022. The festival has been organised in accordance with the guidelines of Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety to create awareness among public on road safety issues.

Filmmakers, amateur film enthusiasts and students submitted entries in form documentary, experimental, narrative, fiction, non-fiction and animation format. From Delhi to Kerala, there are entries in many non-Odia languages including Hindi, Telugu, Malayalam and English on various aspects of road safety. There were film submissions from nook and corner of Odisha.  Apart from Odia languages, there are quite a few entries in Santali language as well from tribal belts of the state.

In the last leg of the festival shortlisted films were screened on Saturday, June 24, 2022 at Town Hall, Puri. Around 700 students from different schools of Puri were present on the first day. The screening of top 42 films received an overwhelming response from one and all present at the event. On the first day around 32 child artistes who have acted in the various movies and top 42 films team members were felicitated.

Earlier these 42 shortlisted films were screened in Rourkela on June 18-19.  All the shows held at a local multiplex went houseful with the audience giving a rousing response to the festival, a first of its kind in the country.

Winners were selected by a judging panel of film industry professionals and non-industry professionals, luminaries from different walks of life. Jury members for the festival includes Dharitri Patnaik, Entrepreneur & Philanthropist, Kuna Tripathy, Chairman, Odisha Film Development Corporation & Odia Film Actor, Manish Mundra – National Award Winning Film Producer & Philanthropist, Onir, National Award Winning Filmmaker & LGBTQIA+ Activist, Rajesh Touchriver, National Award Winning Filmmaker, Sabyasachi Mishra, Odia Film Actor & Social Worker, Sidhant Mohapatra, Veteran Odia Film Actor & Former Member of Parliament, Sruti Mohapatra, Disability Rights Activist, Founder & Head,  Swabhiman, Sujit Mahapatra, Secretary, Bakul Foundation & Author, Tanaya Patnaik, Executive Director, Sambad Group and Barsha Priyadarshini, Film Actress & Social Activist, Founder, Sammanita.

List Awardees

Odia Category

Best Film

  • Winner- Rakhi from Balasore- Screenplay &Direction- Manmay Dey- Rs 100,000
  • First Runner up- Start from Bhubaneswar –produced by Digital Dreams, Directed by Jitendra Sethi- Rs 80,000
  • Second Runner Up- Helmet- Wear Helmet Properly from BhubaneswarRs 60,000

Written & directed by Kalinga Jaysingh

Individual awards

  • Best Cinematography – DIBYARANJAN MOHAPATRA, The Last Ride from Bhubaneswar- 25,000
  • Best Screenplay– GULSHAN MOHANTA, Kabaach from Baripada25,000
  • Best Direction– MANMAY DEY, Rakhi from Balasore- 25,000
  • Best Acting– Kalyani Panda, Na Aau Nuhen from Bhubaneswar & N.Priyadarshini Sahoo, Thank you Baba from Jajpur-25,000

Non-Odia Category

Best Film

  • Winner- The Power of 2 Seconds from Bangalore– Screenplay & Direction by Pankaj Gupta-100,000
  • Second Runner Up- Awake from Kerala, directed by Sreenath S- Rs 80,000
  • First Runner up- I Am on the Way from Berhampur by MAHESH STR- Rs 60,000

Individual awards

  • Best Cinematography – Vivek Vijayan, Awake –Kerala- Rs 25,000
  • Best Screenplay- Rohan Yadav, Stuck- Bhubaneswar –Rs 25,000
  • Best Direction- Om Panigrahi, Whisper of The crown, Bhubaneswar & Vivek Vijayan, End Joy, Kerala –Rs 25,000
  • Best Acting Swadhiti & Shitilagna , Sadak from KV, Koraput-Rs 25,000

 Special Jury Award

  • Animation- Thrill can Kill – Berhampur- Rs 10,000
  • Santhali film – Anhela from Rairangpur-Rs 10,000
Also Read

Comments are closed.