Naveen re-elected as BJD Chief for eighth time

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was today formally announced as the President of the state’s ruling party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) for the eighth time consecutively.

State Returning Officer Pratap Keshari Deb announced the election of Naveen Patnaik along with 80 others elected as party’s state executive members. The results were announced after a state council meeting held at the party headquarters here earlier in the day. The meeting was attended by 355 members of the party.

Worth mentioning, Patnaik was the lone candidate to file nomination for the post of BJD Supremo. After being re-elected, Patnaik thanked the people of Odisha and said “BJD doesn’t fight election to win or lose, they fight to win the love of the people of this state and serve them.”

With election of BJD Chief and state executive members ,five phases of the party’s organisational polls that started in December last year comes to an end. Patnaik is the founder president of BJD, which was formed after the death of Biju Patnaik in 1997. The party’s organisational elections are held every three years.


Also Read

Comments are closed.