Newly elected Odisha MLAs sworn-in

Bhubaneswar: A day after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and his 20-member team were sworn-in during a ceremony, the newly elected members of Odisha Assembly began taking the oath today.

Senior BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy, who was appointed as the pro tem speaker, administered oath to the legislators including CM Patnaik in the House. The swearing-in ceremony will continue till 5.00 pm tomorrow in Assembly.

Satpathy was sworn-in as the pro tem speaker in presence of CM Patnaik during the oath taking ceremony on Wednesday. He was the government chief whip of the last (15th) Assembly.

Worth mentioning, the ruling BJD has nominated senior party leader Surjya Narayan Patro for the post of Speaker. As the party has majority in the House, He will be elected by the members of assembly on June 1.

Also Read

Comments are closed.