Nila Madhab Panda, Lipika Darai from Odisha win National Film Awards-2016

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar/New Delhi, Apr 7:

Two eminent directors from Odisha have won top honours at the 64th National Film Awards-2016 which were announced at national capital today.

Renowned film directors Nila Madhab Panda and Lipika Singh Darai have bagged the coveted awards at the annual event in feature and non-feature film categories.

Panda-directed Hindi movie ‘Kadvi Hawa’ won special mention award produced by Eleeanora Images Private Ltd. The movie highlights the farmer’s struggle against the changing environmental conditions.

Similarly, Lipika Singh Darai has won national award in the non feature film category for best educational film ‘The Waterfall’. The movie has been directed by Darai and produced by Syed Sultan Ahmed. The duo will receive a Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000 each. The movie portrays the issues of development and displacement through the eyes of an endearing protagonist

Besides, another Odia has bagged National Film Award in the Best Arts/Cultural Film category for ‘The Lord of the Universe’. The movie has been produced and directed by Shibu Prusty. He will receive Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000.

Some of the prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Kasaav in Best Feature Film category and Fireflies in the Abyss in the Non-Feature Film Category. Sonam Kapoor was awarded Special Mention Award in the Feature Films Category for her role in the movie Neerja. Movies in the languages other than those specified in the VIII Schedule of the constitution in the feature Film categories were also awarded. The award for the best Moran Film was given to Haanduk while best Tulu film was given to Madipu.

Best Film Critic award was given to G. Dhananjayan for his in depth analysis on a wide range of topics such as film genres, brands, new strategies in movie watching, taxation impact and ticket pricing. Special Mention Award was given to the K.P. Jayashankar and Anjali Monteiro for the book ‘A fly in the Curry’. Best Book on Cinema award was given to ‘Lata- Sur Gatha’ authored by Yatindra Mishra.

Special Jury Award in the Feature category was given to Mohanlal for his mastery in dealing with characters of various shades with unparallel acting brilliance.

Special Jury Award in the Non-Feature category was given to ‘The Cinema Travellers’. This year a new category ‘Best on-location Sound Recordist’ in the Non-Feature Film section of the National Film Awards was also introduced.

The state of Uttar Pradesh was awarded the Most Film Friendly State award for implementing a unique film policy. The State’s Film Policy included various measures to create a suitable environment, which not only invited shooting of films on a large scale in the State but also promoted other activities related to various aspects of film production including financial incentives for filmmakers.

The state of Jharkhand was given Special Mention Award for their Film Policy which provided growth opportunities to the local filmmaking talent from within the State.

The National Film Awards would be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee on May 3 this year.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

  1. Best Actor – Akhay Kumar (Rustom)
  2. Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – Sathamanam Bhavathi (Telugu)
  3. Best Action Direction (stunt choreography) – Peter Hein (Pulimurugam)
  4. Best Children’s Film – Dhanak (Hindi), Director: Nagesh Kukunoor
  5. Best Film on social issues – Pink (Hindu), Director: Anniruddha Roy Chowdhury
  6. Best Direction – Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)
  7. Best Actress – Surabhi C. M (Minnaminungu— The Firefly)
  8. Best Supporting Actress – Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
  9. Best Supporting Actor – Manoj Joshi (Dashakriya)
  10. Best Child Artist – Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Nur Islam and Samiul Alam (Sahaj Pather Gappo), Manohara K (Railway Children)
  11. Best Male Playback Singer – Sundharayyar (Song: Jasmine E)
  12. Best Female Playback Singer – Iman Chakraborty (Song: Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho)
  13. Best Screenplay (original) – Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikooram)
  14. Best Screenplay (adapted) – Sanjay Krishnaji patil (Dashakriya)
  15. Best Editing – Rameshwar Ventilator
  16. Best Audiography (Sound designer) – Jayadevan Chakka Dath(Kaadu Pookunna Neram)
  17. Best Costume Designer – Sachin Lovalekar (Marathi film)
  18. Best Make-up Artist – NK Ramakrishna
  19. Best Music Direction – Bapu Padmanabha (Allama)
  20. Special Mention – Kadvi Hawa, Mukthi Bhawan (Hindi)
  21. Special Jury award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Best feature films in regional languages:

  1. Madipu (Tulu)
  2. Joker (Tamil)
  3. Wrong Side Raju (Gujarati)
  4. Peli Chuplu (Telugu)
  5. Dashakriya (Marathi)
  6. Maheshinte Prathikaaram (Malayalam)
  7. Ke Sara Sara – Ghodpachen Ghoddtelem (Konkani)
  8. Reservation (Kannada)
  9. Neerja (Hindi)
  10. Bisorjon (Bengali)
  11. Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese)
Also Read

Comments are closed.