Nine Maoists lay down arms in Odisha

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Koraput, Mar 7:

As many as nine armed Maoists of the Koraput Division of Andhra-Odisha Border Special Zonal Committee (AOBSZC) surrendered before the police at the district headquarters office today.

MaoistsThe members of the banned Communist Party of India (Maoist) surrendered before the police as they were disillusioned with the ideologies of left wing extremists, police said.

Before joining the outlawed group, they were member of the Chasi Mulia Adivasi Sangh (CMAS) at Narayanpatna in Koraput district, police said.

“Their role is suspected in abetment of Maoist crimes between 2009 and 2013 in Narayanpatna and Bandhugaon area. They have surrendered as they were disillusioned by the anti-tribal and anti-development activities of the Maoist leaders. Besides, they also realised the futility of armed struggle and decided to join mainstream,” IG of Police, South-Western Range Yashwant Jethwa said.

“As we are putting in lot of efforts to restore normalcy in the Narayanpatna region, we would provide all possible help as per the rehabilitation scheme of the government to bring them back to the mainstream,” Jethwa added.

The ultras have been identified as Krushna Praska alias Sandeep, Suna Mandingi alias Chumuki, Sudarshan Patra, Kamulu Miniaka alias Suresh, Sandreya Mandingi, Pustana Hirleka, Saja Miniaka, Sarbu Wadeka and Ajit Mandingi from Narayanpatna area.

Also Read

Comments are closed.