NMB Memo Trophy : It will be a Scan Sporting vs Rising Student final

OST Sports Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jan 19 :

It’s final.

It will be Scan Sporting which will clash with Rising Student in the final match of the MCC Old Monk Club Soda NM Bhuyan Memorial Tournament on Monday at the BJB College ground.

In the second semi final played today Scan Sporting beat Progressive Cricket Association (PCA), Jharsuguda by 33 runs in a match full of thrills and ups and downs.

Sumitosh Praharaj received MoM award from Pratap Jena
Sumitosh receives MoM award from Pratap Jena

Scan won the toss and chose to bat first. Three well compiled half centuries by Santosh Devkant (61), Sumitosh Praharaj (58 not out ) and Gourav Mohapatra (52) helped the team reach 238 for the loss of five wickets at the end of 40 overs. Veteran batsman Pravanjan Mallick contributed 24 runs.

For Progressive Rajkisan Patel ( 1/36) and Prashant Sahu (1/42) were the wicket takers.

Although the target was not a challenging one, regular fall of wickets and the fact that yesterday’s century maker Prashant Sahoo fell for just 21 runs minimised Progressive’s chances of making it to the final.

However, Ranjit Singh (47), Priyatosh Parmanik (46) and Ansuman Gope (36) displayed consistency and repeated their performance in the quarterfinal match. Singh and Parmanik, however, fell before reaching the half century mark. Towards the end part of their innings which folded up in the 39th over, PCA  appeared to have given up. .

The Scan bowlers Manoj Naik (3/40), Rabindra Naik (2/24)and Dinesh Sahoo 2/32 did well to keep the PCA batsmen under leash and succeeded in getting wickets every time the Jharsuguda team appeared to cruise along towards the target.

Sumitosh Praharaj who impressed everybody with his grace and style won the Man of the Semifinal award. Wellknown political leader and sports organiser Pratap Jena handed over the prize money and trophy to him at the end of the match.

On Monday, January 20, Scan Sporting will take on the powerful Rising Student in the final match of the 40-40 tournament.



Scan sporting-238/5 in 40 overs

Santosh Devkant 61(4×4), Sumitosh Praharaj 58*(5×4,2×6), Gourav Mohapatra 52(4×4,1×6), Pravanjan Mallick 29(4×4)


Rajkisan Patel 1/36, Prasant Sahoo 1/42

Progressive cricket association: 205/10 in 38.2 overs

Ranjit Singh 47(4×4,1×6), Priyatosh Parmanik 46(3×4,1×6), Ansuman Gope 36(3×4,1×6),Prasant Sahoo 21(2×4,1×6)


Manoj Naik 3/40, Rabindra Naik 2/24, Dinesh Sahoo 2/32

Man of the Match-
Sumitosh Praharaj.


Also Read

Comments are closed.