No Govt college in 3 Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: Three districts including two in coastal part of Odisha have no government college so far.

This was revealed by the Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari in Assembly yesterday.

Replying to a question by BJD legislator Saluga Pradhan, the minister in absence of Higher Education Minister Arun Sahoo informed the House that there are 52 state-run colleges in 27 districts, out of which Ganjam and Sundergarh have 5 colleges each.

However, there is no government college in Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur and Jharsuguda districts.

Even, no proposal has been made by the government for setting up the state-run college in these districts, Pujari said.

Following the answer, the MLA demanded for a government college in Daringbadi. Joining him, BJP deputy leader Bishnu Sethi pitched for setting up an unitary university in Bhadrak district.

Senior Congress leader Narasingha Mishra expressed concern over teachers’ shortage in colleges in Balangir.

BJD leader Bhupinder Singh proposed the government to set up women colleges in all the districts.

Also Read

Comments are closed.