No more Guard of Honour for CM & Ministers in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister, Cabinet Ministers and senior Government officials in Odisha will no more be given Guard of Honour (GoH) and House Guard. CM Naveen Patnaik today directed for abolition of the traditional practice.

As per the order, except on special occasions like Republic Day, Independence Day and Utkal Dibasa, the GoH and House Guard salute will not be given to Chief Minister, Cabinet Ministers and senior Government officials.

“Guard of Honour will only be given to those invited as chief guest on the three special days. However, there will be no change in the practice for President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Governor, Lokayukta, Chief Justice and other judges Supreme Court and High Courts,” said a communiqué issued from the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO).

Earlier, CM Naveen had set an example by removing the red beacon from his Government vehicle.

Besides, the Odisha Government has also decided to address freedom fighters and personalities holding constitutional posts as ‘Manyabar’ (Honourable).


Also Read

Comments are closed.