No-trust motion against Odisha civic body chairperson rejected;BJD retains post

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Jajpur, Sep 7:

In a major relief for Odisha’s ruling party, the no-confidence motion against Vyasanagar Municipality chairperson Sabita Rout was rejected as BJD councillors abstained from voting on the motion today.

Vyasanagar Municipality

As the motion stood rejected in the absence of two-third councillors in favour of it, Rout has retained her post as the Municipality’s Chairperson.

“We have 26 councillors in toto. Had minimum two-third of councillors been present, voting would have been taken up. Since we didn’t have the requisite numbers in accordance with the rules, today’s no-confidence motion is rejected,” informed Abdul Alim Khan, ADM Kalinganagar.

Barring eight Congress councillors, none from the BJD or the lone independent councillor turned for voting.

“Since we lacked numbers, the ADM has rejected the motion. We had sought the support of all councillors on this matter. They too had promised thorough the media to support the motion. The Congress is always with the people; it had been with the people in the past and shall remain so in the future. Congress is always for the development of the town,” said Bandita Parida, Congress councillor.

The BJD had issued a whip yesterday asking its councillors to refrain from voting on the motion.

The party had warned of strong action in the event of any of its councillor violating the party whip.

Notably, eight Congress councillors and the lone independent councillor had brought a no-trust motion against the Municipality’s Chairperson.

The Congress had issued a whip to its councillors to remain present at the time of voting on the motion.


Also Read

Comments are closed.