Odia novelist Pratibha Ray new chairperson of Jnanpith Selection Board

Bhubaneswar: Veteran novelist Pratibha Ray from Odisha was appointed as the chairperson of Jnanpith Selection Board.

Wishes and messaged poured in for the Jnanpith laureate for appointment to the prestigious post in the organisation.

Pratibha Ray is the first woman writer to receive the coveted National Moortidevi Award by Bharatiya Jnanpith for the year 1991 for her widely acclaimed novel ‘Yajnaseni’. She was conferred the Jnanpith Award, country’s highest award for literature, for 2011.

Besides, she achieved the rare feat in literature for novels including ‘Barsa Basanta Baishakha’, ‘Aranya’, ‘Nishidha Prithivi’, ‘Parichaya, ‘Aparichita, ‘Punyatoya’, ‘Meghamedura’, ‘Ashabari’, ‘Ayamarambha’, ‘Nilatrishna’, ‘Samudrara Swara’, ‘Shilapadma’, ‘Dehatit’ and ‘Uttarmarg’.

Also Read

Comments are closed.