Odisha: 9 candidates in fray for Jharsuguda bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Altogether nine candidates will try their luck in the Jharsuguda by-election, scheduled to be held on May 10.

Earlier, altogether 10 candidates had filed their nominations for the bypoll. However, Bhubaneswar Gartia withdrew his nomination today, said sources in the Chief Electoral Officer in Odisha.

Biju Janata Dal nominee Dipali Das, BJP nominee Tankadhar Tripathy, Congress candidate Tarun Pandey, Janma Rohodas of Odisha Pragati Dal, Manish Sharma of Odisha Janata Party, Mahindra Patnaik of Kalinga Sena and independent candidates Bijay Kumar Jalan, Mahendra Luha and Gyanendra Behera are in the fray for Jharsuguda bypoll, they added.

Notably, the bypoll to Jharsuguda Assembly segment is necessitated due to murder of sitting MLA and Health Minister Naba Das on January 29.

Also Read

Comments are closed.