Odisha approves establishment of 34 new courts

Bhubaneswar: As many as 34 new courts will be established in various districts of Odisha, informed Law Minister Pratap Jena today.

A high-power committee chaired by Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari has approved a proposal in this regard at a meeting. A notification will be issued after approval of the Orissa High Court.

Minister Jena and Finance Department Secretary Vishal Dev are among the members of the committee. The panel has given nod for establishment of a Special Vigilance Court at Paralakhemundi in Gajapati district, 7 District & Sessions Court (two in Bhubaneswar, one each at Soro, Jaleswar, Chandikhole, Koraput and R. Udayagiri), 5 Senior Division Civil Judge Courts (one each at Ranpur, Narasinghpur, Badamba, Sorada and Rampur) and 11 Junior Division Civil Judge Courts (one each at Tusura, Dhenkanal, Soro, Simulia, Bahanaga, Jaleswar, Chandikhole, Barakote, Naugaon, Khajuripada and K. Nuagaon).

This apart, as many as 10 Commercial Courts (two at Puri, one each at Cuttack Sadar, Bhubaneswar, Balasore Sadar, Balangir Sadar, Kendrapara Sadar, Jeypore, Rourkela and a Leave Reserve Court) have received approval from the committee.

An amount of Rs 21.26 crore has been sanctioned for the formation of the new courts.

Also Read

Comments are closed.