Odisha Assembly condoles death of 10 leaders, adjourned for the day

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Aug 18:

The Odisha Assembly, on the first day of its monsoon session, was adjourned today after offering its condolence to 10 leaders who passed away recently.

Assembly condolenceAs soon as the House session began, leader of the House and chief minister Naveen Patnaik brought a resolution to condole the death of former President of India Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, former Odisha chief minister and Governor of Assam Janaki Ballav Patnaik, former Rajya Sabha member Kalpataru Das, former minister Anand Acharya, Sriballav Panigrahi, Kartik Mohapatra and former MLAs Parsuram Panigrahi, Sarat Paikray and Premalata Mohapatra.

The members later observed a one-minute silent prayer after the resolution was supported by the leader of the Opposition Narasingh Mishra and leader of the BJP Legislature Party Basant Panda.

Apart from these departed leaders, the House also condoled the death of Jaga Khila, a village warden, who was killed by the Maoists.

After the members offered their condolence, Speaker Niranjan Pujari adjourned the House till tomorrow.

The Assembly session would continue till August 29.

Also Read

Comments are closed.