Odisha: BJD’s Rita Sahu wins Bijepur bypoll with record margin

Bargarh: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) swept the bypoll in Bijepur Assembly Constituency in Bargarh district of Odisha with its candidate Rita Sahu’s thumping victory today.

The ruling party’s nominee won the bye-election with a record margin of 97,994 votes defeating her rivals.

After completion of final (21st) round of vote counting, Rita Sahu emerged as the victorious with 1,35,957 votes. While BJP candidate Sanat Gadtia got 37,967 votes, Congress’ MLA nominee Dilip Panda was placed third with only 5,873 votes in the bypoll conducted on October 21.

Similarly, Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha’s Ashok Kumar Mittal received 1,219 votes in the bypoll.

Also Read

Comments are closed.