Odisha BJPLP leader election on July 4

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, July 1:

The BJP’s legislature party in the Odisha Assembly will be meeting on July 4 to elect its leader, said sources in the BJP here.bjp logo

The BJPLP meeting to elect a leader which is scheduled to begin at 3pm will be attended by central observer Prakash Javdekar and party’s Odisha in-charge Arun Singh, party sources added.

The election of BJPLP leader was postponed following the busy schedule of Javadekar, who is the Union Minister for Environment and Forest, Information and Broadcasting in the Narendra Modi government. The meeting was originally scheduled to be held on June 11.

Presently, the state unit president and Patnagarh MLA KV Singhdeo is holding the post .

There are speculations that the party MLAs may elect either Dillip Ray or Basant Panda to lead them in the state Assembly. However, Ray seems to be the frontrunner, considering his stature and  experience as both Union Minister and MLA earlier, said party sources.

The party has improved its tally from six to 10 in the 2014 elections.



Also Read

Comments are closed.