Odisha CB registers murder case against 4 police officers in 2017 Jeypore custodial death

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Crime Branch has registered a murder case against four police officers over their alleged involvement in the custodial death of a person at the Jeypore Town police station in Koraput district in 2017.

Akash Mahuria of Jeypore was allegedly thrashed to death inside Jeypore Town police station on January 30, 2017. Police had then said that the youth died as he fell while being chased by cops for arrest.

The four police officers against whom the murder case has been registered are Jeypore police station’s former inspector-in-charge Tapan Narayan Rath, former sub-inspectors Siba Prasad Sahu and Rajesh Baliarsingh and former Jeypore sub-divisional police officer Rajendra Prasad Senapati.

Case has been registered against the accused under Sections 302, 323, 342, 325, 505 and 34 of the IPC.

A team of the Crime Branch led by ASP Ramchandra Thamba will probe into the case.

Deceased Akash Mahuria’s mother Prabina Mahuria had lodged a complaint with the Crime Branch, recently. The woman alleged that Tapan Narayan Rath and other cops took his son forcibly and assaulted him at the police station, which led to his death.

Also Read

Comments are closed.