Odisha CM announces Rs 1 cr cash reward for four women hockey players

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced Rs 1 crore cash reward each for four hockey players from the State in Indian women’s team that clinched silver for the country in Asian Games.

The four women hockey players Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Deep Grace Ekka were part of the Indian women’s hockey team.

The cash award was announced in recognition of their achievements in Indian women’s hockey team that played in the Asian Games final after a gap of 20 years.

The four players will receive Rs 1 crore each as per the revised policy.

Patnaik also announced reward for the coach of these players, who drove the team to settle for silver at the Asiad on Friday.

As per the revised policy, the coach will get an award equivalent to 20 percent of the awards of medal winners at Asian Games.

Taking to Twitter, the CM congratulated Indian women’s hockey team on their achievement at Asian Games.

“Odisha is the proud sponsor of the Indian National Hockey team. The State has always promoted hockey and is also the host of Men’s Hockey World Cup,” the CMO said in a release.

Worth mentioning, Patnaik has been encouraging athletes and sportspersons to achieve rare feat for India as well for the State.

Yesterday, he felicitated sprint queen Dutee Chand for bringing Home two silver medals in 100m and 200m race at Asian Games. He also handed over Rs 3 crore cheque to Dutee for her success.


Also Read

Comments are closed.