Odisha CM gives away Biju Patnaik Bravery, Sports Awards

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today felicitated eight persons and a private institution with Biju Patnaik Sports, Bravery and Social Service awards.

He conferred the Biju Patnaik Sports Award on para shuttler Pramod Bhagat for his contribution to sports and outstanding achievements in world sports events.

He was felicitated with the award that has a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh. He also received cash amount of Rs 30.95 lakh as reward for winning gold medal in BWF World Para badminton championship (singles and double), gold medal (singles and double) in 3rd National Para Badminton Championship 2019 and bronze in mixed double event in 3rd National Para Badminton Championship 2019.

The world champion in Para Badminton was among 6 sportspersons, who were felicitated during a programme at Jayadev Bhawan in Bhubaneswar.

Similarly, sprint queen Dutee Chand was rewarded with Rs 6.67 lakh for winning gold medal in 100 metre event in 30th World University Games.

Three Weightlifters — Bhakta Ram Desti, Jhili Dalbehera and Senha Soren — received reward of Rs 1.33 lakh,Rs 4 lakh and Rs 83,000 respectively for outstanding performance in international sports events. While Bhakta Desti was rewarded for gold medal in 49 kg youth U17 Championship 2019, Jhili received the amount for gold medal in 45 kg women event, commonwealth weightlifting championship 2019 and Soren was felicitated for silver medal in 45kg junior U20 women event commonwealth weightlifting championship 2019.

Sportsperson Babulu Munda received Rs 42,000 during the programme for winning silver medal in Junion Asian Wushu Championship this year.

Besides, CM Patnaik conferred Biju Patnaik Bravery Award on a little girl Srimati Bhadra from Ghantapada in Angul district for her chivalry. She received the award that carries Rs 1 lakh cash prize.

Leading private university KIIT University founded by Rajya Sabha MP Achyuta Samanta was also conferred Biju Patnaik Sports Award for best contribution to promotion of sports and games.

Moreover, six personalities included Radhakant Tripathy, Badri Mishra, Mahendra Kumar Joshi, Kamakshya Prasad Majhi, Ram Narayan Dash and Abdul Rahman Khan were awarded the Biju Patnaik State Award for social service. They received Rs 25,000 cash prize each.

Addressing the sportspersons during the programme, Patnaik said, “the talented sportspersons from Odisha have been achieving success both in national and international events. Their achievement and contribution to sports will continue to inspire young talents.”

Also Read

Comments are closed.