Odisha CM inaugurates 100 new Aahar centres

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 14: 

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today launched the second phase of Aahar scheme in a function organised in the indoor stadium of Cuttack.  100 new Aahar centres were dedicated to the public on the occasion.

Aahaar scheme

The government aims to provide subsidised meal to 60,000 people with the launch of the second phase.

While five new Aahar centres have come up in Bhubaneswar, four more have started business in Cuttack.

“I am happy to dedicate 100 new Aahar centres for the people of Odisha. The Aahar scheme has now been extended to all the districts of the state. More than 60,000 people can be served lunch in these centres,” said Naveen speaking on the occasion.

“The Government started the Aahar scheme last year for the convenience of thousands of people visiting the towns of the state. These centres have become very popular. That is why we have extended it to all the districts. Food quality, cleanliness and safe water would be of highest importance in these centers,” he added.

The scheme is now being sponsored by Orissa Mining Corporation (OMC) in Cuttack and Bhubaneswar, Orissa Power Generation Corporation (OPGC) in Rourkela and Orissa Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (IDCO) in Sambalpur. Tata Steels has been supporting the scheme in Berhampur while Adani in Bhadrak.

Aahar is a subsidised meal scheme of the state government for the urban poor in the state. The centres provide cooked lunch comprising rice and dalma’ at Rs 5 between 11 am to 3 pm at specific locations.

The scheme was inaugurated by Patnaik on April 1, 2015 in five of the cities such as Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela in the first phase.

Also Read

Comments are closed.