Odisha cop takes VRS, joins OPSC as Chairperson

Bhubaneswar: Retired IPS officer Dr. Satyajit Mohanty today assumed charge as the Chairperson of the Odisha Public Service Commission (OPSC).

He took voluntary retirement from the police service yesterday after a 33-year-long career as a cop.

Mohanty belongs to 1988 batch of Indian Police Service of Odisha cadre. In a career spanning a period of 33 years, he has been posted as Superintendent of Police and Deputy Inspector General/Inspector General of Police in a number of police Districts and Ranges, respectively.

He served in the Vigilance Directorate, Transport Commissionerate, Police Academy, Police Housing Corporation, Police Headquarters and as Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar Cuttack. On elevation to the rank of Director General of Police, he has served as Director General, Prisons and Director, Correctional Services of Odisha, Special DGP, Intelligence and is currently serving as DG, Fire Service, Commandant General, Homeguards and Director, Civil Defence, Odisha.

He is a recipient of Police (Antrik Suraksha Seva) Medal, Police Medal for Meritorious
Service and President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Also Read

Comments are closed.