Odisha cricketer Debashish Mohanty finds place in BCCI junior selection panel

Bhubaneswar: Head coach of Odisha Ranji team and former India team fast bowler Debashish Mohanty has been appointed as member of BCCI junior selection committee replacing Venkatesh Prasad.

Supreme Court appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) today appointed Mohanty of the three cricketers shortlisted. The other two are: Sujit Somasundar from Karnataka and Zakaria Zuffri.

The appointment was necessitated after Mohanty’s former teammate Venkatesh Prasad resigned from the selection committee in May this year.

With this, the five member committee now comprises of Ashish Kapoor, Rakesh Parekh, Gyanendra Pandey and Amit Sharma, including Debashish Mohanty.

Worth mentioning, the CoA took the decision after three members of Cricket Advisory Committee – Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman – recused themselves from selecting the member.

The Odisha speedster has donned the Team India cap in two Tests and 45 One Day Internationals for between 1997 and 2001.

Also Read

Comments are closed.