Odisha forms Commission for Other Backward Classes

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government today formed the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes and appointed former Judge of the Orissa High Court, Justice Raghunath Biswal as its Chairperson.

The State Government has constituted the Commission in accordance with the provisions contained in the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes Act 1993. The Commission comprises of the chairperson, three members and a member secretary.

While IAS officer Veer Vikram Yadav has been appointed the Member Secretary of the Commission, Prof. Navneeta Rath, Prof. Dr. Mitali Chinara and Prasanna Kumar Patra are its members.

Earlier, Justice Raghunath Biswal had served as President of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission from November 2012 to March 2017.

Prof Navneeta Rath is a distinguished Social Scientist in the Department of Sociology, who has also conducted studies on backward classes, Prof. Mitali Chinara is the Professor in the Department of Economics and well known in the field of Applied and Analytical Economics.

Prasanna Kumar Patra is a renowned Anthropologist in Department of Anthropology, whose research areas include Socio-Cultural, Biological Anthropology and Demography at Utkal University.

Also Read

Comments are closed.