Odisha Govt announces 34 new NACs, five municipalities across State

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to strengthen local self-governance, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has announced constitution of as many as 34 Notified Area Councils (NAC) in 20 districts and upgradation of five others into municipalities in four districts.

As per the announcement, the NACs in four districts – Boudh (Boudhgarh), Karanjia (Mayurbhanj), Kantabanji (Balangir) and Ganjam (Aska and Chhatarpur) will be upgraded to municipalities. The decision was taken following 5T Chairman VK Pandian’s district tours and keeping the demands of people along with development of the areas in mind.

Among the newly constituted NACs are – Pallahara and Chhendipada in Angul district, Basta and Simulia in Balasore district, Paikmal and Bheden in Bargarh district, Agarpada in Bhadrak, Belpada and Saintala in Balangir, Binjharpur, Panikoili, Jaraka and Chandikhole in Jajpur, Jaypatana in Kalahandi, Raikia in Kandhamal, Borrigumma in Koraput, Sinapali in Nuapada, Chandili, Muniguda and Bissamcuttack in Rayagada, Dunguripali in Sonepur, Bonai in Sundargarh, Sheragada and Kukudakhandi in Ganjam, Kantilo in Nayagarh, Tangi and Begunia in Khurdha, Salepur, Badamba, Narasinghpur and Niali in Cuttack,  Betnoti in Mayurbhanj, Prajang in Dhenkanal  and Kantamal in Boudh.

Official sources informed that the creation of new NACs and municipalities was prompted by public demand and factoring in the ever rising population and socio-economic development of the State.






Also Read

Comments are closed.