Odisha Govt constitutes motor transport drivers and workers welfare board

Bhubaneswar: Commerce & Transport department today constituted a board for the welfare of motor transport drivers and workers after the due approval of Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

The board will comprise of Transport Minister Tukuni Sahu as its chairperson. Dharmasala BJD MLA Pranab Kumar Balabantaray and Jharsuguda MLA Dipali Das have been nominated as members.

Officials of the department, office-bearers of vehicle owners, drivers and employee associations, including social activists will also be nominated as members.

It is pertinent to mention, the CM had earlier announced the formation of the board on June 12. The board will act as an advisory body to the State government and give necessary suggestions with regard to the welfare of drivers and workers.

Moreover, the board will implement several welfare schemes of the government. About 5 lakh drivers, workers, and their families in Odisha will benefit from this decision.

Also Read

Comments are closed.