Odisha Govt employees to lose 8 holidays. Here’s why

Bhubaneswar: The holiday list for the calendar year 2020 declared by Odisha government brought no cheers for the state government employees as they will lose eight holidays.

As many as eight holidays out of total holidays fall on Sundays, second and fourth Saturdays in the year 2020. However, the government employees will not receive holiday compensatory time.

“Since the festive/commemorative days as listed fall on Sundays/2nd Saturdays/4th Saturdays, those days have not been specifically declared holidays,” said Revenue and Disaster Management department in a notification dated October 23.

As per the list of festivals declared holidays for the state government offices, Republic Days, Pahili Raja, Ganesh Puja, Nuakhai, Muharram, Durga Maha Astami, Durga Maha Navami and Diwali are falling on Sundays, second Saturdays and fourth Saturdays next year.

Here’s list of festivals/commemorative days fall on Sundays/2nd Saturdays and 4th Saturdays.


However, the state government will be allowed to avail one holiday at their option on any one of the festive occasion or commemorative days listed at Annexure-II irrespective of their religious affiliation/denomination with written permission of the authority, competent to sanction casual leave (CL).

Here’s the list of optional holidays for government employees for the calendar year 2020.


The state government has allowed its employees to remain off on 27 holidays.

Here’s the list of holidays for the state government offices for the calendar year 2020.


Also Read

Comments are closed.