Odisha H E Dept to have two more directorates

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jun 2:

In view of the increase in the number of colleges in the state, the Odisha government’s Higher Education (HE) Department today decided to open two more regional directorates.

A proposal to open two new regional directorates at Balasore and Jeypore was approved by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today, said an official release.

While the districts of Koraput, Nabarangpur, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Kalahandi and Nuapada will come under the jurisdiction of Jeypore regional directorate, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj and Keonjhar will come under the Balasore regional directorate.

Notably, three regional directorates of the Higher Education Department are currently functioning at Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, and Sambalpur respectively.

These regional directorates function as supervisory and approval authority for pay fixation of staff and teachers, introduction of new syllabus and establishment matters of colleges in their respective areas.

In view of the increase in the number of colleges, workload of the existing regional directorates has increased.

To ease the workload, the state government decided to open two more regional directorates.

With the opening of the new regional directorates, total number of regional directorates under the department will be five.



Also Read

Comments are closed.